Influential Women in Canadian Agriculture

Excellence Award for Ag Students winners announced

June 10, 2019
By Top Crop Manager Avatar photo

Three students from across Canada were announced as the winners of the 2018-2019 Excellence Award for Ag Students Competition run by Farm Management Canada (FMC) and the Canadian Association of Diploma in Agriculture Programs (CADAP).

Paula Eraso, from the University of the Fraser Valley in British Columbia, and Charles-Étienne Ferland and Alexandra Stinson, from the University of Guelph in Ontario, were announced as this year’s winners.

The students will receive a scholarship towards furthering their education in agriculture.

FMC and CADAP collected submissions from agricultural students across Canada for the award. Students were asked to submit a multimedia presentation, a video, a Twitter chat, a blog or a Wiki, responding to the following question: How can agriculture bridge the increasing rural and urban divide?

View each winner’s winning entry below:

David MacTaggart from the University of Saskatchewan was selected as the winner of the 2017-18 Excellence Award and answered the question, “What aspects of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) should be addressed and amended in the current negotiations that will benefit Canada’s agriculture sector?” You can view MacTaggart’s winning submission here.